Jawala Devi


7 eternal flames
The temple is one of the 51 Shakti Peeths which are the significant shrines of Hindu deity for Hindu pilgrimages. Jwala Devi temple is famous for the physical manifestation of Jwala Ji (flame). There are 7 eternal flames inside the temple which are worshiped as 7 Goddesses.

What is the secret of Jwala Devi?

This Jwala Devi Temple is believed to have been blessed with the presence of Shakti due to the falling of the front tongue from the corpse of Sati Devi as Lord Shiva carried her and wandered throughout ryvarta in sorrow.

Which part of Sati fell in Jwala Devi?

Satis tongue fell at Jwalaji. Jwalaji is in the form of tiny flame that burns. There are lot of small tiny flames coming out of the fissures in the age-old rock. Puranas say that Pandavas are have visited this sacred place.

How the flame is burning in Jwala Ji?

Here the goddess is personified as tiny flames that burn through the chasms in the age old rock. At this place several flames continue burning day and night. According to the devotees the goddess menifests herself in a blue flame fed by natural gas that shoots out of the rock.

How to reach Jwala Devi Temple?

How To Reach Jwala Devi Temple Mussoorie. Jwala Devi Temple in Mussoorie is located at 8 kms from Mussoorie city. One can reach at Jwala ji Temple by 2 km trek from Clouds End Mussoorie. Nearby rail is at Dehradun railway station (39 kms) and airport at Jolly Grant Airport (60 kms).

Who destroyed Jwalamukhi temple?

Firoz Shah Tujhlaq had become orthodox and bigoted towards the later part of his reign. He destroyed the Puri Jagannath temple while on an expedition to Jajnagar in 1360. Jwalamukhi temple of Kangra was destroyed during the expedition to Nagarkot.

Why is Jwalamukhi famous?

Jawalamukhi is a famous temple to the goddess Jwalamukhi, the deity of flaming face. Raja Bhumi Chand Katoch of Kangra, a great devotee of goddess Durga, dreamt of the sacred place and the Raja set people to find out the whereabouts of the site. The site was traced and the Raja built a temple at that location.

Where did Satis breast fall?

Maihar: Shakti Shivani, Body part–Right Breast

According to the Hindu Mythology, Satis necklace fell down in this city situated in Satna district of Madhya Pradesh, and hence people started calling it “Maihar”. The temple is situated at the Trikoota hill.

Which is most powerful Shakti Peeth?

Among these, the Shakti Peethas at Kamakhya, Gaya and Ujjain are regarded as the most sacred as they symbolize the three most important aspects of the Mother Goddess viz. Creation (Kamarupa Devi), Nourishment (Sarvamangala Devi/Mangalagauri), and Annihilation (Mahakali Devi).

What are the 4 Shakti Peeth?

The mythological texts recognize four major Shakti Peethas: Tara Tarini (Stana Khanda), near Berhampur; Bimala (Pada Khanda) inside the Jagannath Temple (Puri); Kamakhya (Yoni khanda), near Guwahati; and Dakshina Kalika (Mukha khanda) in Kolkata.


Now when nothing worked out, Akbar and his minister, finally dropped their ego and agreed that Maa Jwala was really the almighty. With this notion in his mind, the king came to the Jwala Ji Temple, Vaishno Devi, to offer a parasol made of gold to the Goddess.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This field is required.

You may use these <abbr title="HyperText Markup Language">html</abbr> tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

*This field is required.