Prayaga Temple


‘ Manasa Shaktipeeth is situated on the banks of the China-authorized Lake Manasarovar, where Sati’s ‘right hand’ fell.

How many Shaktipeeth are there in prayagraj?

There are three Shakti Peeth Temple in Allahabad. And Lalita Devi Temple is one of them located near the Jamuna river.

Where are the 18 Shakti Peethas located?

18 Shakti Peethas
Part of the Body Fallen Place Name Of Shakti
Hair Mysore (Karnataka) Chamundeshwari Devi
Upper Teeth Alampur (Telengana) Jogulamba Devi
Neck Srisailam (Andhra Pradesh) Bhramaramba Devi
Left eye Kolhapur (Maharastra) Mahalakshmi Devi
14 more rows

How many Shakti Peeth are there in Uttar Pradesh?

The three temples in Prayag Shaktipeeths are considered Shaktipeeths from three dfferent ideas. All the three temples are of mata Sati of Prayag Shaktipeeth. The three temples are Akshaywat, Mirapur and Alopi.

Where did Sati’s leg fell?

The goddess here is in the form of Shakti Kottari. Locally known as Nartiang Durga Temple, the Jayanti Shakti Peeth is where the left thigh of Sati fell.

Which part of Sati fell in Prayagraj?

The last part fell at this location thereby named as “Alopi” (where disappearance was concluded)and the holiest of all. However, this claim is debatable since there is only one Shakti peeth in Prayagraj which is Lalita Devi temple where fingers of Sati are supposed to have fallen.

Which is most powerful Shakti Peeth?

Among these, the Shakti Peethas at Kamakhya, Gaya and Ujjain are regarded as the most sacred as they symbolize the three most important aspects of the Mother Goddess viz. Creation (Kamarupa Devi), Nourishment (Sarvamangala Devi/Mangalagauri), and Annihilation (Mahakali Devi).

Where is all 51 Shakti Peeth?

51 Shakti Peeth List with Body Parts
S.No Shakti Peeth State
1 Amarnath Temple from Srinagar Shri Parvat in Ladakh Jammu and Kashmir
2 Attahas Temple, Birbhum District West Bengal
3 Bahula at Ketugram in Purba Bardhaman West Bengal
4 Bakreshwar, Birbhum District West Bengal
47 more rows

What are the 4 Shakti Peeth?

The mythological texts recognize four major Shakti Peethas: Tara Tarini (Stana Khanda), near Berhampur; Bimala (Pada Khanda) inside the Jagannath Temple (Puri); Kamakhya (Yoni khanda), near Guwahati; and Dakshina Kalika (Mukha khanda) in Kolkata.

Where did Sati’s hand fell?

Taratarini Temple

While the Shakti Peethas and their exact numbers differ in various religious texts, these four temples are widely regarded as the main ones because four major body parts of Sati’s corpse are believed to have fallen there.


Sati’s eye or earring is believed to have fallen at Varanasi, establishing Vishalakshi as a Shakti Pitha. However, if one asks at the temple there today, the priest and all others aver that the body part that fell was Her face, which is hidden behind the murti.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This field is required.

You may use these <abbr title="HyperText Markup Language">html</abbr> tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

*This field is required.