Seven Sister Waterfalls


Jyoti Prasad Saikia
How did the 7 Sisters get their name? In January 1972, Jyoti Prasad Saikia, a civil servant from Assam was giving a radio talk show. He used the term 7 Sisters there for these states to emphasise their similarity, interdependence and how they are all accessed from India through the same route.

Why it is called 7 sisters waterfall?

A set of 7 waterfall cascades and a popular stopover on Gangtok – Lachung route, the Seven Sisters Waterfall is named for its 7 stages of fall.

Where is Seven Sisters waterfall located?

Nohsngithiang Falls (also known as the Seven Sisters Waterfalls or Mawsmai Falls) is a seven-segmented waterfall located 1 kilometre (0.62 mi) south of Mawsmai village in East Khasi Hills district in the Indian state of Meghalaya.

Where is Seven Sisters waterfall in Gangtok?

Seven Sister is a popular waterfall located on the Gangtok- Lachung Highway, around 32 kilometres away from Gangtok.

Why Sikkim is called brother of seven sisters?

Today it comprises 8 states namely Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Tripura – often called The Seven Sisters, and Sikkim – referred to as the Brother to the seven states. It is believed that these specific names were given to this region due to their interdependence on each other.

How many stairs are at 7 falls?

224 steps
Take in stunning valleys, striking rock formations and golden prairies as you climb the challenging 224 steps to the hiking trails and the banks of glistening streams that feed the falls, and its 181-foot drop of falling water.

What is special about Seven Sisters?

Why are the northeastern states called seven sisters of India? The interdependence of the states and its geographical features between Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Meghalaya, Manipur, Mizoram, Nagaland, and Tripura has given an origin to the name Seven Sisters of India.

Is there water at 7 falls?

You will find Broadmoor Seven Falls at the end of this hike after making it through the rocky canyon. There is a series of pristine pools at the base of the falls and the entire area is a great spot to stop for a picnic or short break.

Can you walk into Seven Falls?

Visitors to Seven Falls can walk the 0.8-mile paved trail from the entrance to the base of the falls.

Is Seven Falls a hard hike?

Seven Falls is one of the most popular hikes in Tucson. And it’s easy to see why. Besides being the #1 rated trail in Tucson by All Trails, it boasts seven waterfalls, incredible views, and a moderately easy hike.


This walk is just under 8 miles / 13km in length and should take about 6 hours to walk. The walk can be started from public transport using bus route 12 / 13 stopping at Exceat (Sieven Sisters Country Park), East Dean Village or Birling Gap.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This field is required.

You may use these <abbr title="HyperText Markup Language">html</abbr> tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

*This field is required.