Sudarshan Sahoo


It carries a cash prize of Rs 11 lakh, a citation and a bronze replica of Vagdevi (Saraswati).

Why Sudarshan Sahoo get Padma Vibhushan award?

Renowned Odisha sculptor Sudarshan Sahoo was on Monday conferred with the Padma Vibhushan, the second-highest civilian award of the country, for his distinguished work in the field of art.

Who is Sudarshan Sahoo of Odisha?

Sudarshan Sahoo (born 11 March 1939) is an Indian sculpture artist from Puri in Odisha. He was awarded India’s second highest civilian award Padma Vibhushan in 2021 and India’s fourth highest civilian award Padma Shri in 1988.

Do Padma awardees get money?

The recipients enjoy certain perks including travel via state-owned carriers during official ceremonies. However, the awards don’t come with any cash prize and title.

Who is the youngest person to win Padma Shri?

159. The youngest recipient of Padma Shri so far is Shobana Chandrakumar Sachin Tendulkar Sania Mirza Sania Mirza
Shobana Chandrakumar.
Sachin Tendulkar.
Sania Mirza.
Sania Mirza.

Which caste is sahoo?

Marwari caste
The Sahu people in Maharashtra belong to the Marwari caste, and migrated from Bundelkhand mainly to the Vidarbha region. They trace their origin to Karmabai who lived in the Jagannath Temple in Puri.

Who is the famous sand artist of Odisha?

Sudarsan Pattnaik
Sudarsan Pattnaik (born 15 April 1977) is an Indian sand artist from Puri, Odisha. In 2014, the Government of India honoured him with the Padma Shri, India’s fourth-highest civilian award, for his seashore sand arts.

Who got Padma award from Odisha?

Padma Awards
Sl. No. Name of Recipients Field of Activity
1 Guru Kelu Charan Mohapatra Art
2 Shri Raghunath Mohapatra Art
3 Shri Manoj Das Literature & Education (Puduchery)
4 Ms. Tulasi Munda Social work
29 more rows

What is the salary of Bharat Ratna?

No formal recommendations for this are necessary. The number of annual awards is restricted to a maximum of three in a particular year. On conferment of the award, the recipient receives a Sanad (certificate) signed by the President and a medallion. The Award does not carry any monetary grant.

Who all refused Padma Awards?

Former West Bengal Chief Minister Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee and former General Secretary late EMS Namboodirpad are among the two personalities who refused the Padma Awards, from state.


All persons without distinction of race, occupation, position or sex are eligible for these Awards. Government servants including those working with Public Sector Undertakings, except doctors and scientists, are not eligible for Padma awards.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This field is required.

You may use these <abbr title="HyperText Markup Language">html</abbr> tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

*This field is required.